Prayer

Prayer (n): A devote petition to God or an object of worship

Again I have found myself with more time on my hands than I really know what to do with. My first thoughts turned to yoga and prayer, thoughts to the Great One above us, the universe, whatever may come to mind when discussing the ‘Higher Power’.
I want to make more time for these ideas of devotion that yoga and meditation offer. The ideas which speak to a higher place both within myself and within the world around me. As I expressed these desires to my roommate, she gave me a puzzled look and asked, “What do you mean by prayer? I just have never heard it in that context.”
I began to folly around with some version of a definition as to what prayer really was to me, and I found myself for days pondering the question thus presented: what is prayer?
I defined it in my head in the best way that I thought I could. How would the dictionary define it? I asked myself. How do I mean prayer? When I looked up prayer in the dictionary I found the definition instep exactly with what I had come to expect, I again asked, how do I mean prayer?
Prayer, in the most simplistic terms, is every action. Everything is prayer for everything is the Great One above and around us, every action and being is Divine thus should be treated as Divine and mindfully.
Divinity of all things must be seen in all things before it is allowable to see each action as prayer. Divinity in all things is accepted because all things are connected, from the food we eat, to the conversations we have, to the degrees of separation and the shrinking of the world. Each being must recognize the connection of each other threw and to one another.
Much like the circle of life as one physical entity dies it decomposes into the earth, feeding the plants, which feed the animals, which in turn feed other animals or the earth again. The interconnectedness of entropy alone is enough to feed the mind the idea of oneness, yet another example gives way in the degrees of separation between people. As social networking grows, one sees how easily it is to find different people around the globe.
Again pushing forward the ideas that all are connected, and if all are connected to each other, it is only plausible to think that in each we can find likeness to each other. We will all feed one another threw networking, or threw the ideas of decomposing to feed grass, to feed animals, to feed more grass or animals.
All is then divine, and treating the divine as one sees fit is that in which is prayer. If one finds love within the divine then love will flow from them to it, and if one finds anger, than anger from them will flow threw it. None being wrong or untrue. Prayer is the action of all to another, any action within this world, it is all acting onto the divine thus prayer to the divine.

About 8petallotus

Here are the thoughts that hit me after everything is done and quiet, capturing the few moments of enlightenment between the grind and giving it a place to inspire. A place for yoga and divine inspiration.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

