The Path Between Point A and B

sistine-chapel-michelangelo-paintings-6

Lately I have been saturated with advise from everywhere talking about changing my life to suit what I want. Horoscopes, articles, and quotes surfacing in my life are all talking about this idea of transformation, currently I have been inclined to listen. Still as I become this trail blazer down a path of my own choosing I have had a hard time finding inspiration speaking to this exact phase in my life. Not that I am saying I am uninspired and I am going to give up; but rather that I am inspired and want inspiration about how push on to my desired goal.

My current goal is to become a self-sustaining yoga instructor. That is to completely live off of the money I make teaching, and for anyone reading the trends on the community knows, this is not the easiest of tasks to accomplish. Many studies coming out show that yoga instructors make an average of 30,000 per year causing many to have second jobs in order to support themselves.

Due to this trend there has been a growing industry focused on helping yogies like myself become self-sustaining instructors. Though for many of these services you have to buy a book or pay for a service, it is also full of collections of articles found on line that has advice, tips, and tricks to help realize the goal.

Often times these articles are written by successful yogies recommended staying in current employment until one can support themselves in such a career field, or branching out to offer other services than yoga to their students. They also offer advice on how and where to start, ways to find a good certification program, and all the other general baggage that comes with being a yoga instructor.

Now here is where it gets to me. A lot of the articles focus on two things. One, where people where when they decided that yoga was their life path; and two, how awesome it was when they were able to realize their goal. There is a minimal portion in between speaking to how they got there. Often times it has one or two bits of advice, stick with it, get business cards, offer to teach at unconventional place etc. but there is nothing speaking to the reader about how to over come the overwhelming pressures of living a double life. Of course that middle part is probably the most important for anyone wanting to become a yoga instructor, or follow any other dream.

The challenging part about following your dreams is not in the want or inspiration to do so. Nor is it, for people that have decided to do so, figuring out what is the dream. The challenge comes from the in between place of deciding to follow your dreams, and getting to your goals. Here is where we often times get stuck and find it hard to keep going.

Right now, as I have said, I am in such a place. I am having a harder and harder time finding the motivation to get myself out of bed and go to my current job. There are aspects, that few would argue, of toxicity. It is not that the job is hard, the people are difficult, or the environment is awful, it is just the industry as a whole has a lot of demands. There are a lot of different people wanting a lot of different things in a lot of different ways, communication is almost always lacking, and it is a job of details. You add these all up for a person who is trying to be mindful and it becomes a little more than overwhelming dealing with the pressure.

Nonetheless there are many points of my job that are positive. My bosses are wonderful, much of my staff are open minded individuals with stellar personalities, and I have flexible hours, all of which are reasons to stay until I have reached my goal. I am grateful to be working where I am, and without my job I would not be able to support myself, or further the things I want to do.

So here I am. I am caught between two worlds. On one hand I am stuck in a job that can drain my very core with its demands, and on the other I am working towards my own inner peace and being able to support myself helping others find theirs. There are days when I have a hard time finishing up my shift, and others where my day job leaks into my personal life by winding me up.

I have not found a solid solution yet to the balancing act. Mainly I have found that you have to be willing to flow with what is happening around you. Some days I find myself just sitting on the couch watching TV until I fall asleep, others I find myself up so late I only get a few hours of sleep. Some days there is a good balance allowing me to work on my yoga business after work, and others I am so distracted at work I leave feeling as if I got nothing done.

Still with being fluid and not allowing myself to get caught up in the drama of it all I have found aspects of peace. The trick is to not fall into the trap of just letting everything go, and abandoning all hope of reaching your goal. It is not a perfect solution, and it takes a lot of discipline, and self awareness. I hope this helps you if you are in my place, trudging on the path in between. I hope you stick with it and are able to meet your goals.

Practice with love and peace. ❤

About 8petallotus

Here are the thoughts that hit me after everything is done and quiet, capturing the few moments of enlightenment between the grind and giving it a place to inspire. A place for yoga and divine inspiration.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Path Between Point A and B

  1. Thad says:

    Nice article. You summed it up well. It takes determination and discipline to reach the goal. But you still need to give yourself room to breathe. Interesting that you used Michaelangelo’s depiction of God reaching out and breathing life into Adam.

    Like

Leave a Reply

