Flowing in Change

Half Moon 4 27 2015

This past Tuesday I managed to make it to my favorite Jivamukti yoga class. It was a cold and rainy day, and I had been having difficulty focusing. Due to the opening of an old wound I had been going into class hoping to heal and release some of the emotional stress, yet I walked away with so much more.

In the course of class my instructor had us do a very intensive balancing flow, which essentially had us flowing into about four or five poses and holding them for five breaths each. Then we switched sides. At the end of the flow, we were in Tadasana or mountain pose. My instructor then remarked “feel grateful for the stability”.

When I left class, I was in a great blissful state. I was looking forward to going home and eating dinner, relaxing before heading to bed and starting a new work day. I walked out into the cold drizzle that had been precipitating all day, and trotted to my car. However I was none so lucky to just drive off without the above mentioned lesson setting a theme for the rest of my week. As I turned the key, nothing happened.

It was not just that my car did not start, but the clicking of the starter could not even be heard. Needless to say my bliss lessened that moment. I went back to the studio and asked if one of the lingering women could help by jumping my car. I got home alright, but I was afeared that the car would not start again in the morning. I was correct. However I found something interesting about the whole matter; my battery did not start because the cable was disconnected from the battery, not because the battery was bad. A small simple adjustment and everything was running smoothly again.

As all this was going on I still had my instructor’s words echoing in my head, “be grateful for the stability”. I had a feeling that things in life were about to change drastically.

Sure enough as the week waned on, stories came out of the woodwork from different friends, coworkers, and acquaintances. There was a lot of talk of transportation going array, there were stories of how this plan and that did not pan out, and over all there was a feeling of being drained. The more that things popped up, the more I revisited my Tuesday night/Wednesday morning adventure; and I tried to keep things as stable as possible.

Still no matter how stable I could try to make my environment, change was coming, there was nothing anyone could do about it. In the course of these thoughts I started rereading one of my yoga books, Practices for Liberating Body and Soul Jivamukti Yoga by David Life and Sharon Gannon. I had been studying up on sequencing flows and vinyasa practice. As I read I was reminded something that added to my experiences,

“Through Asana practice, we discover the importance of embracing change in the realm of body/mind and we discover stability in the soul real.Surrender to the change.”

I began practicing my personal flows with more zeal, and the more I became stable in the change, the more I understood. My instructor was right. I needed to be grateful for the stability, that stability was that of change.

It is in our practice of asana and vinyasa that we are able to understand change, and how best to face it in our day to day lives. When we find stability in this change we are freed from the attachments to that which is changing.

Practice in love and peace ❤

About 8petallotus

Here are the thoughts that hit me after everything is done and quiet, capturing the few moments of enlightenment between the grind and giving it a place to inspire. A place for yoga and divine inspiration.
This entry was posted in Change, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

