The Yoga of Bad Days

Picture obtained from www.wehopeagain.com

Picture obtained from http://www.wehopeagain.com

“Every day can’t be the best day/do what you can right now, don’t hesitate” – Atmosphere

The lyric above comes form the musical talents of Atmosphere, telling one of the most crucial truths of day to day life. Not every day will be awesome; but it is all about how we react and cope that make the days better or worse for us.

Even as yogies we cannot escape this truth. No matter how well practiced you are, detached, or meditative, we all will have those days, or few days, that will just try our patience and grate us to the core. Still each one of these days that happens it boils down to what we are going to do.

Recently I had such a week. As it started the week seemed like it was going to breeze by beautifully. I had enough time to fit in my week ending ritual, the week was only four work days long, and I had an extra class to teach that was already filled to capacity. Life seemed as if it could not get any sweeter.

However that is the wonderfully beautiful thing about life.

“Well life has a funny way of sneaking up on you
When you think everything’s okay and everything’s going right
Alanis Morissette

Monday seemed to sneak by from me, with only small things going wrong here and there, Tuesday I missed the yoga class I practice at because of a traffic jam, Wednesday I felt disconnected from my students in class, Thursday only two of the ten students that signed up for class showed, and by Friday well lets just say work showed me just how flexible I can be in uncomfortable situations.

Still the week is now finally over, and I survived. I did not just survive though, rather, I shined. During this most turbulent week that built up to testing me to the tip of my edge, I never lost my temper at someone. I never outwardly blamed anyone else for the misfortune that was befalling me. I objectively looked at everything around me and quantified it for exactly what it was.

That being said, I still reacted. I reacted strongly, and emotionally. I went outside and vented to coworkers, cried in the bathroom stall, whined on the couch, and almost gave into the downward spiral of having only two students in class.

In all these reactions, I did what I could in the situation, then I let it go. I gracefully left work behind when I got home and prepared to teach. I focused on what I could do better next class. I looked at the bigger picture at work and let go of the small stuff.

Just like when we practice yoga on our mats, bad days are all about the shake off. Just like bad days in life, we all have bad days on our mats. When we cannot get into our favorite pose, even though we could yesterday; or we fall over in tree pose that we have done perfectly hundreds of times. Yet each time we are cued to shake it off and let it go, so we do our best to accomplish that.

No different than the matt is how we should approach these bad days, moments, and situations. We need to learn to just shake them off, before the ego sets in and the bad moment becomes a bad vibe that lasts for years.

Remember just as life can shake us up when we feel too confident so to,

“And life has a funny way of helping you out when
You think everything’s gone wrong and everything blows up
In your face”
Alanis Morissette

Practice in peace and love ❤

About 8petallotus

Here are the thoughts that hit me after everything is done and quiet, capturing the few moments of enlightenment between the grind and giving it a place to inspire. A place for yoga and divine inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

