Understanding The Leap of Faith

“Sometimes your only available transportation is a leap of faith” -Margaret Shepard

Half Moon 4 27 2015

One of the hardest things is to have faith. To have faith in people, a situation, or ourselves. Often times it is hardest to have faith in the Universe or the ‘Powers That Be’ which speak to your true Self and heart. This is even harder when the Universe asks us to take a leap of faith and trust that everything is going to be alright.

This is the cross roads I have found myself at for a few months now. In February when I began researching the idea of becoming a full time yoga instructor the phrase ‘leap of faith’ kept coming up. It was a phrase used when making the decision to quiet your day job and ‘leap’ into a full time yoga career.

I had a hard time with this concept. Not the whole quieting the day job and becoming an instructor, nor the idea of having faith in the universe; but rather the idea of not having all your ducks in a row before hand. See the whole idea of taking a leap of faith is just that, a leap of faith. It is jumping without looking, and trusting you are going to be okay.

For much of our society this concept seems to be lost. We are only willing to take guaranteed leaps of faith. Phrases like, “I would love to move; but I have to save money first” or “I can’t quiet my job until I have another lined up” are common place in our world. We seem to have lost the magic that use to be so present in us. We claim that we can manifest our all desires, but in order to create something new we need to let go of something old to create the space. We need to take that leap of faith and truly trust the universe will catch us to land on our feet.

I finally was able to understand the concept of the leap of faith after attending many yoga classes with my instructor. We are doing a sequence currently that has us leaping from Virabhadrasana to Ardha Chandrasana on an exhale, then inhaling back up again. Each time we were preparing for the transition to Ardha Chandrasana my instructor would say, “prepare for the leap of faith on an exhale”, then as we went for it would say, “now take the leap of faith to Ardh Chandrasana”.

It was in those moments when I was leaping form one pose to the next, without guarantee of landing safely, I learned to trust. I learned to trust in my body knowing where to land. I furthered my trust in my instructor that she knew what she was doing. Most importantly I eventually learned to trust in the Universe giving me the exact message I needed to hear.

In the mists of all this going on in my life, I was sending out applications, networking for private clients, as well as slowly checking out of my current day to day job. Without knowing it I started moving slowly and trustfully towards my goals. I started getting interviews, teaching gigs, and private students, all the while I was slowly becoming less integrated into my day job.

Still just as when a child’s tooth is hanging on by a thread so was I. I had prepared for the leap, but I had not yet taken the plunge. Yes I had prospects lined up, I had smaller teaching gigs; but I had nothing that would compare to the amount of money I was currently making, or needed to survive. Still something in me was more loudly crying out for me just to have faith. To leave my day to day job and focus on the dreams just breaking the horizon. Finally I did.

Earlier this week I put in my notice to my job. I had not heard back form any of the other prospects yet and I did not know how I was going to pay my bills this July. Still I knew the I needed to take a leap, I had to let go of the last bit that was holding me into my past in order to make room for my future. Then Friday I was offered a teaching job with benefits. It had an hourly pay, and a set amount of hours each week, paid vacations, and paid sick days. The Universe did in fact provide. I just needed to let go of the old to make room for the new things I was manifesting.

The things we try to manifest to our lives can only take root if we give them room to grow without crowding them in fear or the past. When we truly let go and take a trusting leap of faith, even if it seems we might land on our faces, the Universe will always find a way for us to land on our feet.

Practice in peace and love ❤

About 8petallotus

Here are the thoughts that hit me after everything is done and quiet, capturing the few moments of enlightenment between the grind and giving it a place to inspire. A place for yoga and divine inspiration.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Understanding The Leap of Faith

  1. Pingback: This or Something Better | 8petallotus

Leave a Reply

