The Times They are A-Changin

I think Bob Dylan put it best in his song, ‘The Times They Are A-Changin’; as cliché as it might sound. The fact of the matter is, life is all about change; and we can either chose to fight the tide, or we can flow. Right now, more than ever, we are faced with some extreme changes happening both within and outside of the United States – for better or for worse.

 

I am not going to put this into a political post; however there is no secret that there are many things changing around us. We have new leaders in charge, we have cultures both evolving and devolving their states of consciousness, and we have new technology, communications, and industries. With all of this we can only ask ourselves one thing, are we going to flow with this, or are we going to fight everything that is happening.

 

Recently I had some bad news. I was told that the studio that I mostly work at is closing. Although there is still a thriving massage business, there will no longer be an attached yoga studio. Although I felt very sad regarding the news, I was not mad. I was not upset and fighting, nor trying to find a way to keep the business going. Instead I found myself seeing this as a necessary step that was suppose to happen; it was something to push me to evolve.

 

As this happened both my boyfriend and I were dealing with some family trauma, that caused an extreme change of our living situation. Again, I felt the strain that this was going to bring; but it felt necessary.

 

Here is what was happening, I had chosen to flow. I had been given so much to deal with over the past few months and years, and each time there was a part of me that just fought. If it was not turning out the way that I wanted, or what I felt was positive, no matter how much of a sliver lining that I would place around it, I still found myself fighting at some level. This time however, I was done with fighting. If the universe felt that I needed to be dragged through the mud one more time, fine I would squish it between my toes. I would roll around in it and find a way to make it work for my skin.

 

When I made the choice to flow, something amazing started happening. More doors were opening for me. More jobs were being offered me. I was happier, and I was finding a way just to get stuff done. I started connecting with people more authentically. I was finding places where I felt like I fit, and they wanted me to stay. I became louder about what I felt, believed, and wanted; and people responded kindly. I own who I am more and more; and I have been accepted.

 

Change no longer became something scary that would threaten my life or well being, it became something that would strengthen me. I stopped looking at change, whether something seemingly positive or negative, as something to fight or something to find a solution to; but rather as an event in a long string of events. I could not stop change, I could not change things back; but I could go to the next event with a little more information. I could go to that next step and push to make it more in line with my ideal. I could become more articulate about who I was and what I wanted.

 

We are conditioned to fear change. No matter who you are. Even many house pets find it difficult to adjust to change. However we also can not stay stagnate. Nature has shown us that anything that stays in one place and never changes will eventually become putrid – look at standing water. So when faced with this phenomenon of change, the question is not, “How do I stop it or push it back?” but rather, “What is next?”

 

Practice in Peace and Love ❤

About 8petallotus

Here are the thoughts that hit me after everything is done and quiet, capturing the few moments of enlightenment between the grind and giving it a place to inspire. A place for yoga and divine inspiration.
Image | This entry was posted in Change, Uncategorized, Yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

