Yet Another Spring Post About Growth

Breath in. Smell the wet earth, and the new growth that is stirring just underneath. It feels as if every year I mark this time by posting something beautifully delicious about new changes, chapters, and wonders of the season. Spring has always been my favorite time of the year, not just because my birthday is right around the corner; but also because it is the time when the old sheds away and the new can begin to take root.

 

As this change happens, I can not help burst with the new growth happening not only within my own life; but also within the world around me. At this time where the seasons ebb and flow, hinge on change, I usually see many burn bright in the burning phase of the phoenix phase. Others are being born from the ashes. Some, are relishing in flight, while few are resisting the age when their burning needs to happen again.

 

For things to take root and grow, there must be room. We have to first spend these lonely winter months, filled with cold, wet weather, and long dark nights, scraping away the old that no longer serves us. We must first find what needs to change and begin that change by letting go.

 

Still change is very hard. When many people look at the prospect of change, they first begin to shrink in. They wrap themselves up in layers of ego, lash out with strong emotion, and fight tooth and nail. We as a species very much embody the thought that “better the evil we know, then the evil we don’t”.

 

So then, as some of us are comforted and warmed by the new growth and changes to our lives, others are seeming frightened and scared. As I said earlier there are many that are in this time of the year, and sometimes earlier, fighting everything against the necessary space they need to create in order to move forward. The more they seem to fight, the more difficult things tend to become.

 

I happened to have one such opportunity in which I could chose to live, and let live; or to take up arms against the sea of trouble. I had been told that the studio that I had been teaching for a near two years was going to discontinue yoga. At first, rightly so, I was heartbroken. I let the pain wash over me like waves in the ocean. I was aware of the dangers of this, and was careful to anchor myself, to tie myself off to something so I would not drift into an endless ocean of sadness.

 

I spent the first week mourning. All of which ended in an emotional out burst of screaming and tears. However by the end of the out burst, it was like the pain was lifted. I had mourned. I had let go. I was ready to start something new.

 

I was lucky. Within a few weeks, I started teaching at two studios new to me. I begin preparations for creating my own space. I also was accepted for a prenatal yoga certification – a two year long dream I had been chasing. All in all, as the last few classes waned, I was looking forward to this new chapter, and looking eagerly to when my class would be.

 

I had been conscious when the bad news was presented to me. Then I made a choice. I decided that I would move on. I would mourn, allow myself to be sad, then I would pick myself up and continue. We always have this option when presented with change, particularly with change that can shock and possibly break us. However if we chose to fight it, to make it not so, often times we do not end up so lucky and can spend needless time picking up the pieces.

 

Breath in the sweet warm smell of spring as it washes up against us though the rain and melt. Allow yourself to feel the deep growth come up from your soul and take root. Let go of the old worn, and possibly rotting branches, allow that space to be made.

 

Practice in Peace and Love ❤

Breath in. Smell the wet earth, and the new growth that is stirring just underneath. It feels as if every year I mark this time by posting something beautifully delicious about new changes, chapters, and wonders of the season. Spring has always been my favorite time of the year, not just because my birthday is right around the corner; but also because it is the time when the old sheds away and the new can begin to take root.

 

As this change happens, I can not help burst with the new growth happening not only within my own life; but also within the world around me. At this time where the seasons ebb and flow, hinge on change, I usually see many burn bright in the burning phase of the phoenix phase. Others are being born from the ashes. Some, are relishing in flight, while few are resisting the age when their burning needs to happen again.

 

For things to take root and grow, there must be room. We have to first spend these lonely winter months, filled with cold, wet weather, and long dark nights, scraping away the old that no longer serves us. We must first find what needs to change and begin that change by letting go.

 

Still change is very hard. When many people look at the prospect of change, they first begin to shrink in. They wrap themselves up in layers of ego, lash out with strong emotion, and fight tooth and nail. We as a species very much embody the thought that “better the evil we know, then the evil we don’t”.

 

So then, as some of us are comforted and warmed by the new growth and changes to our lives, others are seeming frightened and scared. As I said earlier there are many that are in this time of the year, and sometimes earlier, fighting everything against the necessary space they need to create in order to move forward. The more they seem to fight, the more difficult things tend to become.

 

I happened to have one such opportunity in which I could chose to live, and let live; or to take up arms against the sea of trouble. I had been told that the studio that I had been teaching for a near two years was going to discontinue yoga. At first, rightly so, I was heartbroken. I let the pain wash over me like waves in the ocean. I was aware of the dangers of this, and was careful to anchor myself, to tie myself off to something so I would not drift into an endless ocean of sadness.

 

I spent the first week mourning. All of which ended in an emotional out burst of screaming and tears. However by the end of the out burst, it was like the pain was lifted. I had mourned. I had let go. I was ready to start something new.

 

I was lucky. Within a few weeks, I started teaching at two studios new to me. I begin preparations for creating my own space. I also was accepted for a prenatal yoga certification – a two year long dream I had been chasing. All in all, as the last few classes waned, I was looking forward to this new chapter, and looking eagerly to when my class would be.

 

I had been conscious when the bad news was presented to me. Then I made a choice. I decided that I would move on. I would mourn, allow myself to be sad, then I would pick myself up and continue. We always have this option when presented with change, particularly with change that can shock and possibly break us. However if we chose to fight it, to make it not so, often times we do not end up so lucky and can spend needless time picking up the pieces.

 

Breath in the sweet warm smell of spring as it washes up against us though the rain and melt. Allow yourself to feel the deep growth come up from your soul and take root. Let go of the old worn, and possibly rotting branches, allow that space to be made.

 

Practice in Peace and Love ❤

About 8petallotus

Here are the thoughts that hit me after everything is done and quiet, capturing the few moments of enlightenment between the grind and giving it a place to inspire. A place for yoga and divine inspiration.
Quote | This entry was posted in Change, Uncategorized, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

